2015 Weightlifting Tasmania Awards

The annual awards function of Weightlifting Tasmania Inc. was held 28 November at Rydges, North Hobart.

The following awards were presented.

2015 State Championships Best Lifter Awards

Open Mens Champion Perpetual Trophy  Scott Taylor
Open Womens Champion Perpetual Trophy  Charrae Myers
Junior Mens Champion Perpetual Trophy  Zac Millhouse
Junior Womens Champion Perpetual Trophy  Charrae Myers

2015 Tasmania Masters Championships Best Lifter Award

Winner: Nicolette Dunstone (Crossfit Launceston) – 89.6% of the World Record for Category and Age group

(2nd) Russell Kapper, (3rd) Brooke Tsakirakis, (4th)Robert Gotts, (5th) Dale Hall-Bowden

Chris Chugg Memorial Shield

Results will be based on the % of World Record achieved in each competitor’s respective bodyweight category AND age class (Open/Junior/Youth/Masters)

Winner: Russell Kapper (Crossfit Works) – 78.2%

(2nd) Brooke Tsakirakis, (3rd) Camilla Fogagnolo, (4th) Robert Gotts (5th) Dylan Oakford

Cliff Joyce Memorial Shield

Results will be based on the % of World Senior Record achieved in each competitor’s respective bodyweight category.

Winner: Scott Taylor (Weightlifting Academy of Tasmania) 57.3%

(2nd) Micah Wade, (3rd) Charrae Myers, (4th) Anthony Wilson (5th) Jordan Cripps

2015 Presidents Cup

Winner of Men’s Section: Scott Taylor

(2nd) Anthony Wilson (3rd) Jordan Cripps (4th) Dylan Oakford (5th) Aaron Bruce

Winner of Women’s Section: Camilla Fogagnolo (Weightlifting Academy of Tasmania)

(2nd) Charrae Myers), (3rd) Brooke Tsakirakis (4th) Nicolette Dunstone (5th) Telyshia Jones

Winner of Novice (U17) Section: Monique Booth (Launceston PCYC)

(2) Indiana Lee (3) Dominic Newman (4) Stephanie Pickrell (5) Abbey Boon

Winner of Novice (U17) Most Improved Award: Abbey Boon (Central Coast Weightlifting Club)

(2) Indiana Lee, (3) Alex Tsakirakis (4) Monique Booth (5) Dominic Newman

Citizens Award

Winner: Ryan Harley

Nominees: Gino Frantangelo, Telyshia Jones, Matthew Newman, Owen Cannell,  Beth Butt, Christine O’Malley,  Ben Clark, Ryan Harley

Best and Fairest

Men: Zac Millhouse

Women: Indiana Lee

Overall Winner of Best and Fairest Perpetual Trophy: Zac Millhouse and Indiana Lee (A tie!)